My 33 Pairs of Cleats have taken me all over the country. At the age of 22, I never would have imagined that I had been in 17 states; 13 of which came from travelling to soccer tournaments.

Sure, I’ve been to many places. I have made it from the West Coast to the East Coast, and covered most of the Midwest. Each state and each city different from the last. The frequent travelling made me become very observant.

When I was still in grade school, I told myself I would never leave Omaha. It was where I grew up and it was familiar; it was home.

Simple as that.

As I entered high school and spent more weekends travelling, I came to find one other place I would be willing to call home. It felt familiar to me. It reminded me of Omaha. Overland Park, KS had become a possible city for me to start the next chapter of my life.

At this point in time, it was a dream. I was still set in my decision that Omaha was the place I belonged. My family and friends were all there, and I knew everything there was to know about the city. That may be why I’m ready to move on.

My senior year in college was the most eye-opening year I experienced in college. It hit me that I had never lived more than an hour away from the house I grew up in.

That small distance isn’t just between cities; it was literally the distance from the front door in Omaha to my apartment door in Lincoln. It never once crossed my mind I was still so close.

However, I became more open to the thought of living somewhere else.

Having just graduated from college, I found this to be the perfect time to try something new. I have the time and freedom to make these kind of choices before settling down and starting the next part of my life.

In the end, I know where I want to be, and I am willing to do what it takes to make sure I end up there.

